Release: Senator Noreen Evans introduces environmental legislative package

Friday, February 25, 2011

Release: Senator Noreen Evans introduces environmental legislative package
February 25, 2011
Contact: Christopher Moore  |  916.651.4002

SACRAMENTO – State Senator Noreen Evans has introduced her 2011 environmentally-focused legislative package. The broad-reaching package of six bills touches an array of environmental policy issues including: increasing water agency energy efficiencies, fostering sustainability in California’s crab fishery, oil spill cleanup and wildlife preservation, and maintaining a salmon stamp program.

“California’s second senatorial district contains some of the richest natural resources in the nation,” said Senator Evans. “With hundreds of miles of coastline, giant redwood forests, rivers and streams, and countless species, protecting these resources and ensuring their long-term sustainability is a top priority for me.” 

Among the bills introduced (click for more information): 

  • SB 470: Extends for five years the commercial fishermen-funded Salmon Stamp Program to restore, enhance, and preserve California’s salmon streams and fisheries.
  • SB 564: Provides supports for the Sonoma County Water Agency’s Pilot Programs which aim to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. 
  • SB 668: Preserves agricultural land by allowing non-profit and public agencies to contribute in funding Williams Act preservation practices.
  • SB 369: Addresses safety and sustainability concerns in California’s crab fishery based upon recommendations from the Dungeness Crab Task Force.
  • SB 584: Allows greater flexibility for funds from the Oil Spill Prevention and Response Fund to support wildlife rescue.
  • SB 588: Grants the Coastal Commission the authority to assess fines for those that violate the Coastal Act.

State Senator Noreen Evans represents the Second Senatorial District, including all or portions of the Counties of Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Napa, Solano, and Sonoma. Senator Evans serves on the Joint Committee on Fisheries and Aquaculture, the Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Water, and the Senate Committee on Agriculture.

# # #